Hey everyone! Sorry I haven’t posted any of my writings recently, but I, in truth, haven’t written much. At least until two days ago. I finished a lot of pages (Doctor Who soundtrack does wonders, people!).

Another thing, I am currently writing at least five different novels at the moment, and no matter how much I try to write them equally, but I tend to favor one, or get a new idea.

Does anyone remember the story I did for the C.B.’s challenge? Well you might want to read it ’cause it may turn out to be the prologue!

So lo and behold, my newest creation! (Mawhawhaw anyone?) 🙂

*note You can find the next part here.


 

“Hurry up, Alice,” I complained, practically running to the small white farm house.
“I’m going as fast as I can, Sawyer,” Alice replied.
I sighed. She clearly wasn’t as into historical items as I was. This was life changing for me; her, not so much.
I arrived at the house first, Alice quickly following. We entered the house using my key. No one had been living here for a couple weeks now; not since grandma died.
The inside was filled with antiques and odd items. Grandma was a collector, and now she had left all her things to me. I had been here many times, so I knew all the good stuff was in the attic.
“What are we looking for? You need a map to navigate through here.”
It was true. Boxes were stacked on boxes. Antique furniture was scattered here and there. Sheets covered many unknown things, begging to be looked at.
I pulled out a crinkled piece of paper from my jeans back pocket and read aloud the note. “Sawyer, I have left many of my things to you as mentioned in my will. Since you’re only fifteen, you may or may not be able to claim your things. But, I would like you to go into my attic and retrieve something for me, a mirror to be exact. Don’t let anyone else take it. This is the most precious possession I owned, for there is something very special about it,” My voice cracked. “I love you, now and forever, Grandma.”
I glanced up at my cousin, she had tears in her eyes. Everyone had love our Grandma, and the wound of her death was still fresh.
Wiping her eyes, Alice said, “Do you have any idea what’s so special about the mirror?”
I shrugged. “Family heirloom?”
“Well, let’s go check it out.”
I lead the way to the attic’s trapdoor. Since I’m short, I had to jump to get the attic’s string to pull down the folding ladder. Once it was down, I climbed up first.
Grandma’s attic was one of my favorite places in the world. It carried a musty, ancient smell; items antique and new alike, were stacked everywhere it was hard to walk. I took a deep breath and started to search for a mirror I had never seen before.
Alice and I spent half an hour combing through everything before I came across an old wall mirror that had a crack in the upper left corner. It had been covered with a sheet, tucked in a corner between two stacks of boxes.
“Do you think this is the one?” Alice asked.
Honestly, I wasn’t sure. But I just wanted to be done and go back to Alice’s house. “Sure it is. I mean it has to be, right?”
“Okay,” Alice said, drawing out the word. “Then how are we going to get it back to the house?”
I thought for a moment. “I bet I could carry it.”
Alice’s eyes scanned over me a couple times before she said with a small laugh, “You? I’m stronger then you by a lot.”
It was true. I was a shrimp, and Alice was fit. And though we were the same age, I only came to her ear. “Fine.”
Alice picked up the mirror. It went up almost to her shoulder, yet she had no difficulty carrying it. The real challenge would be getting it down the ladder.
We ended up awkwardly passing it down as we scampered down the ladder. It worked. Now Alice needed to carry it on the three mile walk it took to get to her home.
I pestered Alice to let me help until she finally gave in. We continued, awkwardly carrying the mirror between us, but it wasn’t too heavy.
“I feel completely stupid,” I said after almost fifteen minuets.
“And why is that?” Alice grunted.
“You had your cell phone all along and we could’ve just called your mom to come and pick us up,” I explained.
Alice stopped, forcing me to as well. “And neither of us thought of that before?”
“Hey? At least we got a good work out.”
Alice smiled and took out her phone. She held down the 7 and put the phone to her ear. Once the other side answered, she and her mom talked for a moment before Alice put her phone back in her pocket.
We waited five moments before my Aunt Carmen came to pick us up. Alice put the mirror in the trunk of the minivan and climbed into the passenger seat, forcing me to sit in the middle row.
As soon as we got moving the questions began.
“So, what’s up with the mirror?” Carmen asked.
“Before Grandma died, she told me she wanted me to have it. It was very special to her, and she knew that I love antiques and history,” I answered.
“Interesting. Did she leave you anything else that was ‘very special’?” Carmen asked.
“Well, everything was special to her, but this was more then most. I’m not sure why, though. But anyhow, basically everything was left to me, but they’re still figuring out the whole will thing,” I supplied.
“How’s your father doing?” Carmen questioned, changing the subject.
“Fine.” Ever since my father and Carmen’s sister, my mother, announced their divorce, the two hadn’t talked much.
“Good. That’s good.”
The last few moments of the car trip were spent in silence.
We pulled up to the Johnson residence. I once again gazed upon the small mansion’s beauty. It was a bricked house, four stories high. Flower boxes were in every window; the marigolds and petunias brightening the dreary day. A chimney stood at one side of the house, puffing it’s usual curls of smoke. Flower surrounded the house, and nearby was a fish pond adorned with a fountain.
Getting out, I offered to help Alice with the mirror, but she once again refused. Counting my loss, I went inside.
The inside was furnished nicely, but not overly lavish like the homes on T.V. I plopped myself down on a tan leather couch, waiting for the mother and daughter duo to come inside.
“Sawyer, where do you want the mirror?” Alice asked.
I reluctantly stood up. “I guess my room is fine.”
“Alice, why don’t you get one of your brothers to carry this up for you?” Carmen asked her daughter.
“Sure Mom.” Alice went into the next room. “Johnny?”
I stood. waiting by Carmen until Alice and her brother, Johnny, came back. Without Carmen saying a word, Johnny picked up the mirror and carried the mirror upstairs; apparently Alice had explained to her brother.
I followed my cousins and aunt upstairs to the third floor where all the bedrooms were. Alice opened my bedroom door, labeled with the words Sawyer’s Room, Do Not Enter Without Permission. Johnny went inside and laid the mirror onto my bed, then Carmen and Johnny left without a word. Odd.


 

Please comment and tell me what you think! And if anyone had any suggestion for a title, I’m open! And sorry for nothing being interesting yet, but hold on! In another few posts it will, I promise! Hope you enjoyed it a least a little!

Oh, one last thing. Do you think it should be in the first person point of view (now) or in the third (regular books that are non-first person)? I’ve been debating.

