So right now I’m in a blogging mood, so here’s the next part of my book. I think I may call it Mirrors, or at least for the time being.

Have any title/story right now? Let me know! Questions or comments? Please comment! I love feedback and to know how I’m doing!

*note You can find the first part here and the next part (III) here.


“What do you think is up with the mirror?” Alice asked, sitting on my bed.

I joined her. “Not a clue. But I might as well hang it up on the wall.”

I got up, taking the mirror with me. Walking to the wall opposite of my bed, I leaned the mirror against the wall. Going the short distance to my writing desk, I opened a small, plastic container that was full of tacks, nails, and the like. I chose three nails, then glanced at the small picture on my desk, portraying my mother, father, and me. All three of us were smiling broadly, sitting on our living room couch. That was before the whole divorce situation began. Tears threatened to creep into my eyes, but I blocked them out with a few quick blinks.

“Are you okay?” Alice asked, her voice full of sympathy.

I nodded, though the whole divorce situation was tearing me apart. But at least I got to stay with Alice and her family while my parents fought over who gained custody of me.

“If you’re sure,” she said, not fully convinced. “Do you need a hammer?”

“Nah. Hammers are overrated.”

That made Alice smile slightly.

I took the nails and a metal water bottle, still blinking furiously to keep the tears from pouring out. Once I figured where I wanted the mirror to go exactly, I pounded one of the three nails into the wall with the water bottle, then quickly followed with the other three. Alice then helped me hang the mirror upon the wall.

We both stood back, admiring our work. I had to admit, though the mirror had a giant crack, it looked magnificent.

“You know,” I said, tilting my head slightly, “when you look at it in a certain way, it looks as if someone punched the mirror.”

Alice copied my pose. “I could see that.”

A doorbell sounded from below. “That must be mom!”

I rushed downstairs not bothering to see if my cousin was following. My mom came and visited me every Tuesday night for dinner, so she was expected to arrive.

I arrived at the door just after Carmen did. She opened the door, revealing my mother’s petite, 4’9 frame.

“Mom!” I cried, rushing to give her a hug.

“Hey, Sawyer,” Mom said, tussling my hair.

“Hi Karen,” Carmen greeted.

“Good evening, Carmen,” Mom replied. She let me go then took a deep breath through her nose. “What’s cooking?”

Carmen smiled. “Chili and cornbread, with a special dessert.”

I smiled. My favorite.

“In fact,” Carmen continued, “I was just about to tell everyone to sit down.”

“Well perfect timing,” I said.

As we walked towards the dining room, Alice joined us from the stairs.

“What took you so long?” I asked, letting my mom and aunt walk ahead of us.

“I was just… admiring you mirror.”

Why the hesitation? I shook my head. It was probably nothing.

At the table I sat across from my mom. Alice sat beside me, and Carmen was on my other side. Alice’s dad, three brothers, and sister filled in the other spaces. We enjoyed dinner with much talking and not as much eating, even though the food was delicious.

After dinner, Don, my uncle, turned on the sports channel and watched it with the two older sons, Julia and Lucas played a video game, and Alice and I listened to out mothers’ talk for awhile. The evening was free of talk of death, divorce, and the mystery of the mirror.

As the clock neared ten, my mom got ready to leave. But before she did, she pulled me off to the side.

“Sawyer, I talked with the lawyer today,” Mom said.

“And?” I loved grandma’s stuff, but I wasn’t super eager that she gave it all to me in her will, causing lots of tension on that side of my family. I mostly just wanted the whole ordeal to be finished.

“He said they’re going to give it all to you. You can start picking stuff up as soon as tomorrow.” Though my mother said it with a smile, sadness was clearly in her eyes.

“What’s wrong, mom?”

She looked down for a moment before answering. “The papers are now finalized. The divorce is approved.”

“Oh.” I waited a moment before continuing, “Who’s custody am I in?”

“Mine.”

I let out a sigh of relief. I loved both my parents equally, it’s just that my mom would be able to take care of me better.

Mom wrapped her arms around me and squeezed. I returned the embrace. She planted a kiss on the top of my head before she left through the front door.

I stood a few moments, just staring at the door. The divorce and battle for custody was now finally over, grandma’s funeral and will reading had passed. Maybe things would finally get to a new normal. Don’t get your hopes up, I reminded myself.

“Alright, you need to go to bed, it’s nearly eleven thirty.” Carmen walked into the room, my cousin closely in tow. “You too, Alice.”

I nodded, having no energy to object.

As I climbed up the slightly curving stairs, Alice spoke up, “Are you okay? You look exhausted.”

I had not a doubt in my mind that she had eavesdropped on me and my mom’s conversation. “Like you don’t already know.”

I turned long enough to see Alice’s cheeks take the color of a ripe tomato. She was silent the rest of the way to bed.

I went through the usual bedtime routine. Brush my teeth; put on sweatpants and a T-shirt; update and mark my calender. By the time I had the lights out and was in bed my clock read 11:47. Normally at this time I would be on my computer or reading a book, certainly not going to sleep, but today had been an exhausting day and I need some sleep.

I awoke to my alarm clock’s buzzer. I really needed to change it to the FM radio. Come to think of it, I didn’t even set the alarm. I shook my head. I had probably forgotten that I had turned it on. I read the clock, 7:15. I wanted to go back to sleep, but I was already too awake.

I reluctantly got out of bed and changed into jeans and a T-shirt. I began my morning routine. I’m quite fond of routines.

I had barely begun brushing my teeth before a frantic knock sounded on my door.

“Sawyer?” Alice called.

I quickly swished some water through my mouth, then rushed to open the door for Alice. Alice’s pretty face was now contorted in some kind of panic, an unusual emotion for my slightly older cousin.

“What’s wrong?” I asked.

She shoved her phone in my face. I took the phone and held it back a bit so I didn’t have to cross my eyes to read the screen.

It was a text from an unknown number that read ‘I know what the mirror does, come and talk to me. Leon.’

“Who’s Leon?” I asked, returning the phone.

“That creepy neighbor who always tries to talk to us,” Alice replied, disgust painting her face.

I nodded. I wasn’t quite fond of the kid next door who always was watching. Always.

“And how would he know about the mirror? I mean I didn’t even see him watching us when we carried the mirror inside,” I said.

Alice raised an eyebrow. “You really doubt him? He probably has cameras hidden inside out house.”

“Right. And is that how he got your number?”

The panic returned to Alice’s face. “He now has my number in his phone? Kill me now.”

I cracked a smile, then quickly turned serious. “Do you think we should talk to him?”

Alice thought for a moment. With a sigh she said, “If you want to, then go ahead. But I’m not going.”

With that said, she left.

I sat on the end of my bed, staring at the mirror, thinking. Maybe I should talk to Leon. Sure he was weird. Really weird. But if he thought that there was something special about the mirror then shouldn’t I go?

I got up and stood in front of the mystery mirror. I leaned in closely to the cracked section. I ran my finger along one of the cracks, careful not to cut my finger.

“Sawyer,” Alice said, bursting into my room.

Startled, I turned around quickly. I felt the glass slice my finger, and warm liquid instantly welled. Sticking my finger in my mouth, I asked, “What?”

“I saw Leon. He was on his porch waving at me,” she said. Then Alice saw my finger. “What happened?”

“Nothing. Just a little cut.” I turned to the mirror and saw a smear of blood where I cut my finger.

“Well, if you do talk to him, tell Leon to leave us alone. He won’t find any friends in this house.” She stood for a moment looking at me, then left again.

I stood for a moment, staring at the open doorway, still sucking my finger.

A chill down my spine shook me from my daze. I turned towards the mirror once more. I saw a glimmer cross the surface.

Surprised, I approached the mirror carefully. Again, something crossed the glass. I crept even closer, now within arms reach. I stopped. I stood staring at the mirror for what felt like an hour, but nothing happened.

Shaking my head, I headed downstairs to the kitchen is search for breakfast. I got myself a bowl of cereal and sat next to Alice at the table, our food matching. We ate our meal in silence until Carmen came in, obviously still tired.

“Alice,” she scolded, “did you wake up Sawyer? I’ve told you many times, even though you like mornings, it doesn’t mean that others do to.”

“Actually, I woke up on my own,” I said.

“Okay. Sawyer! What happened to your finger?” Carmen asked. She was a big worrier.

“I just cut it on some glass. I’m fine.”

“At least let me get you a Band-Aid,” Carmen said, then rushed from the room.

I let out a sigh and glanced out the dining room’s window. My mistake. I saw Leon staring at me through one of his windows.

“Uh, Alice,” I said.

“What?” she asked, staring at her nearly empty bowl.

“Leon.”

She immediately snapped her head up. “He is creepy.”

“I got a Band-Aid,” Carmen said, walking in. “What are you two looking at?”

“Leon, the creepy neighbor boy,” Alice replied, looking back down at her food.

“Alice, that’s not nice. I’m sure he’s not that bad,” Carmen said.

“I’m sure he’s not that bad,” Alice mimicked.

“Alice, if you’re going to act like that then why don’t you go to your room where you won’t bother anybody.”

“Fine. After I finish my food.”

“He is sorta creepy,” I said quietly.
“You know what? We’re going to go over there and introduce you two to him. His mother goes to our church, so I know her.”

“Hey,” Alice said raising her hands, “you said that I needed to go to my room.”

Alice picked up her bowl and spoon and put them into the dishwasher. She then went upstairs without a word.

“Well, I guess it’s just you and me, Sawyer. Come on.”

I took my time taking my bowl and spoon to the sink and washing them. I then followed my aunt to the door. On the way to Leon’s house Carmen chattered on and on about Mrs. Eves, while I stayed quite.


So, what do you think?? 🙂

 

