So I’m doing another contest at C.B.’s, this time hospital edition.

Please comment and tell me what you think! Oh, and I apologize about anything that’s wrong hospital wise, but I don’t have any experiences with them. I hope you enjoy!


Karen laid on a gurney, holding her mother’s hand. She couldn’t see all the organized commotion, but she could hear it.

Karen shifted her weight from one side to the other, though it was painful. A female nurse was asking her mom some questions, though Karen couldn’t hear what they were saying exactly.

“Karen,” Jenny, her mom, asked.

“Yeah?” Karen squeaked.

“They’re gonna have to give you stitches, but I’m not allowed to be in there. Are you going to be okay?”

Karen considered all the pain she was in and her new blindness. “I don’t feel okay right now, but I want to get better, so I’ll see you then.”

“Good answer. Love you, Sweetie,” Jenny said, kissing her daughter’s forehead.

“Love you too, Mom.”

Though Karen couldn’t see her mom’s face, she felt a couple warm tears drip onto her cheek. Karen’s tears soon followed her mother’s.

The rolling cot didn’t stop until she heard a door open and she was rolled inside.

As Karen lay there while all the nurses and doctors prepared to give her stitches and do who knows what to her head, she wondered if she’d ever be able to see again.

“We’re gonna have to give you some anesthesia,” a woman said.

“Okay,” Karen whimpered. Though she was twelve, she was terrified at the idea of surgery, even if it was just stitches and some scans.

Karen felt a mask being put around her head. She nearly panicked, but was instructed to just breathe normally.

Within moments, Karen was asleep.

When Karen awoke, she was laying down on a bed, but she could tell that it wasn’t her own. She noticed straight away that her sight still hadn’t returned. It took her a moment before she remembered what happened to her.

Anxiety filled her as she lay there. Everything was black. She couldn’t tell if anyone was there, which filled her with even more panic.

“Mom?” Karen whispered.

“Karen, I’m here,” Jenny said.

Karen felt her mother’s hand slip into her own.

“I’m also here,” a voice said. Karen immediately recognized the voice as her best friend, Stacey.

“I’m glad you’re here. Mom, what happened? My thoughts are all kinda fuzzy. And I still can’t see.” Karen’s voice cracked at the last part.

Karen was surprised when Stacey answered her question. “You and I were out riding our bikes. I went across the street to your house. You were about to follow when a car that was going way to fast hit you.” Stacey added quietly, “It was a hit and run. We don’t know who did it.” After she was finished, Stacey started crying queitly.

Karen was quiet, some of the memories coming back slowly.

“The doctor’s had to give you stitches on your left arm and forehead” Jenny said. “You have a concussion, and a blow to the head caused blindness.”

“Is it treatable?”

Her mom hesitated. “They’re not sure.”

Karen was quiet again. She considered saying one of her normal jokes such as ‘I guess my bike is ruined’ or ‘there goes prom’, but she wasn’t in the mood.

Stacey stopped crying long enough to say, “I’m so sorry. I should’ve seen the car coming.”

The three were quiet for a long while.

“Are you excited to go home?” Stacey asked.

“I’m not sure,” Karen admitted, slowly getting up from the hospital bed. “I don’t know what I’m gonna do. I mean, I know my house well, but not that well, but after a few days, I am getting kind of stir crazy. And, I’ll miss all the people paying me visits, even if I don’t know who they are.”

“God’ll be with you,” Stacey said reassuringly.

As Karen felt Stacey’s hands grasp her arm and balanced her, she said, “Are you talking about God again? I told you he’s not real.”

“But he is. If you would just listen to me, you could try to understand,” Stacey said.

“If he was real, why would he make me be blind forever?” Karen asked, frustrated with her friend. “Listen, if you believe in him, that’s great, just don’t try to convince me.”

“Just let me tell you a little about him and pray for you and I guarantee that you’ll be at least feeling better within a few weeks.”

“Since I have nothing better to do, fine,” Karen mumbled. She felt for the bed, then sat down.

“Really?” Stacey asked, surprised. Karen had turned her down her offer of explaining her religion many a times.

“Go on. But if I fall asleep, don’t blame me. Maybe your God put me to sleep,” Karen teased. And though she couldn’t see, she felt Stacey’s disapproving frown.

Stacey told Karen how the world began and how God loved his people very much. Then she told her the story of the Savior’s death and how God loved everyone, no matter what. Karen, for once, was silent as she listened to her friend.

“Can I pray for you?” Stacey asked. When Karen nodded, Stacey placed a hand on top of Karen’s brown hair. “Lord above, help Karen to see you and to open up her heart to you. I pray for you to heal some, if not all, of her injuries. In Jesus name, amen.”

“That’s it?” Karen asked.

There was silence for a moment, which Karen assumed her friend had nodded. “Sorry, I forgot. But yes. That’s it. Sweet but simple,” Stacey said, remembering her friend’s prediciment.

“Karen? Stacey? All the paper work is home and it’s time to take you two girls home,” Jenny said.

Karen felt a few tears trace down her tears as Jenny and Stacey each took an arm and lead her out of the hospital and to the awaiting Jeep.

The whole way home Karen was silent. She had rejected God so many times and said so many mean things to Stacey because of it. It’s not that Karen now believed in God, it’s just that after Stacey had prayed, she felt something move in her heart.

