Hey everyone! I’m back! Anyways, here’s the next part in Mirrors

Please comment!! And enjoy! I’d love to hear your thoughts and suggestions!!!

*note You can find the first part here and the next part (V) here.


“Yes, 1918. It was in a Norwegian mirror factory, when it mysteriously blew up. And of course, the media ate this up, so it’s still difficult to decipher what is real, and what it false. Because we all know, you can’t trust the media. But from what I’ve figured, it had something to do with mirrors.”

“And that’s where my mirror is from?” I asked, trying to piece things together.

“If you would shut up for a moment and let me explain, I could tell you,” Leon snapped.

“Fine. Fine.”

“Anyways, the only surviving mirror that was found at the site of the explosion is the one that is now in your possession. What I wonder was how your grandmother got it. Oh, and a pity she died.”

“Okay, two things. One, how do you get all your information on us? And two, however you do, stop it,” I said impatiently. This kid was wearying my patience thin.

“Well, a variety of things. Binoculars and lip syncing works wonders; I read body language; my mom chats endless about ever conversation she’s ever had with anybody, including your aunt. And I’m not about to stop my hobby. I’m mean, it’s a free country.”

“I’m pretty sure that’s not what ‘it’s a free country’ means,” I mumbled.

“Leon? Mom said I needed to come back here?” a girl’s voice called from the hall, accompanied by footsteps.

Seconds later a girl walked in. She had shoulder length blonde hair and her mother’s green eyes.

“Oh, hi. I thought that just Carmen was coming, not her son too,” the girl said.

“She’s my aunt, not my mom,” I said, but Leon began talking over me.

“This is my sister, Silvia. She’s about your age. Your fifteen right? So is she,” he chattered.

“Yeah, I am.”

“Well, it’s good to meet you. And what was your name?” Silvia said, sticking out her hand. I took her hand and shook it.

“Sawyer, and good to meet you too.”

“Leon, you should take lessons from Sawyer. You should use manners, not stalk people,” Silvia said with a smile, showing off her bright green braces.

I felt a little heat rush to my cheeks, but I ignored it, hoping it would go away without being noticed.

“So, Sawyer, what are you doing her?” Silvia asked, turning her attention towards me.

I took me a moment to find my voice. “My aunt thought I should meet Leon. My cousin was going to come, but she got out of it.” I immediately wished that I could take my words back. It was rude saying that my cousin didn’t want to come. Wasn’t it?

But Silvia just smiled. “I don’t blame her. Hey, what happened to your finger?”

I looked down to where I had cut myself. I didn’t have time to put a Band-Aid on, so blood had covered the tip of my finger. Apparently the cut went deeper then I had thought. My next reaction was to inspect my clothes to see if I had gotten any blood on them; thankfully I did not.

“Leon, go and get a Band-Aid, while I get a cloth and water,” Silvia ordered.

“Why do I have to? I don’t even like him,” Leon complained.

Silvia was right, he really did need to work on manners.

“I’m fine. It doesn’t hurt at all and I’ll wash it when I get home,” I protested.

“At least clean off the blood before it dries to much,” Silvia insisted.

I crumbled. “Okay. But, could you show me where the bathroom is?”

Before Silvia could say anything, Leon said, “I’m not. I got stuff to do. And that stuff is way more important then helping the odd neighbor kid.”

I clenched my teeth. Leon was even worse in person then I thought. And I had at least three years on him.

“It’s fine. I’ll show Sawyer to the bathroom,” Silvia volunteered.

She set off. I followed her a little ways down the hall away from the living room. She stopped at a door, then flipped a switch showing a decent sized bathroom.

“Thanks,” I said.

“Don’t mention it.”

I hurriedly washed off my finger with warm water a soap. The pain began to resurface, but I ignored it. I took a piece of toilet paper to wrap around my finger to stop any future bleeding.

When I left the bathroom Silvia was in the same place, leaning against the door frame.

“All better?” she asked.

“Yeah. Much.”

“Sorry about my brother. I’d like to say he’s adopted or something, but then I’d be lying. He can be almost nice, but mostly he’s just rude and annoying. But I guess that’s just brothers. Not saying that all boys are like that. But, well, you know what I mean,” Silvia said.

“Yeah, I guess so.”

“How did you get that cut anyways?”

“I cut it on my grandmother’s mirror. Silly, huh?” I answered.

“Was that the mirror that the girl carried in yesterday? Leon wouldn’t stop talking about it. And I do have to admit that I know a little about it myself.”

“It was. And you do?” I asked.

“Yeah. Did you know that the explosion happened in a chemical testing area? I’d keep a close eye on that cut if I were you,” she said.

“Really? Leon didn’t even know where the explosion took place,” I admired.

“He’s not the only brainy one,” Silvia said, smiling.

“Sawyer! We need to leave!” Carmen called.

“I need to go,” I said stupidly.

“I can tell.” Silvia smiled, once again flashing her bright braces.

I rushed down the hall and nearly collided with my aunt.

“The time flew by and I have to be at work soon, so we need to get going,” Carmen said.

“Gladly,” I said quietly.

“Goodbye,” Silvia said.

I turned towards her. “Bye. And thanks.” I wiggled my injured finger which still stung. I saw Leon glaring at me from his doorway.

Carmen and I went outside and back to our house next door. Once inside, Carmen hurried off to get ready for work as a lawyer. As soon as I stepped foot inside the house Alice bounded down the stairs, bombarding me with questions; most I didn’t have an answer for.

When Alice was finally certain that I knew nothing more the I’d admitted, she left to another part of the house. After she had gone, I climbed the stairs to my room, and sat on my bed, once again staring at the mirror.

After a few moments I got up and turned to go away, when the mirror took on a reddish tint; dark at the top left, lighter at the bottom right.

Mesmerized, I took a couple steps closer. The mirror gradually grew darker and darker all over, eventually becoming blood red.

“Sawyer?” Alice’s voice called. I heard knocking and the doorknob rattle. “Why did you lock the door?”

Strange, I didn’t lock the door. But I didn’t turn to look, the mirror was now slightly clearing up.

“Sawyer, are you alright? Are you feeling okay? Answer me,” Alice pleaded.

I wanted to answer her, but I couldn’t.

“Go away. I’m fine,” I heard my voice say, though I hadn’t said anything.

“Al-alright,” Alice said, followed by retreating footsteps.

“Sawyer Carl Ali, step closer,” a young female voice called.

I turned back to the mirror. It looked now as if there was red mist only on the glass. I squinted and took another step closer. A young girl appeared and all the red faded, revealing nothing but black around the girl.


Dun, dun, duh! So … what do you think’s gonna happen next? Who’s the little girl? Let me know! I love hearing (er … reading?) your comments!!

 

