Tricia Mingerink did an open tag here for the freestyle writing challenge. I’ve wanted to do this for awhile, so I went ahead and took it up.

Here are the rules:

1 Open a blank document.

2 Set a stop watch or mobile phone timer to 5 or 10 minutes.

3 Your topic is at the foot of this post. DO NOT SCROLL DOWN TO SEE IT UNTIL YOU ARE READY WITH YOUR TIMER!

4 Once you start writing, do not stop until the alarm sounds!

5 Do not cheat by going back and correcting spelling and grammar using spell check. (The challenge is only meant for you to reflect on your own control of sensible thought-flow and for you to reflect on your ability to write with correct spelling and grammar.)

6 You may or may not pay attention to punctuation or capitals.

7 At the end of your post, write down “No. of words = ____” to give an idea of how much you can write within the timeframe.

8 Copy and paste the entire passage on your blog post with a new topic for your nominees, and copy / paste these rules along with your nomination (at least 5 bloggers).

I do have to admit that I broke #5 a few times, but I tried really hard not to. I realized that I rely a lot on the backspace… When I was rereading this, I cringed. A lot. But anywho, here was my topic:

You and one of your main characters are locked in a dungeon. How do you try to escape?

Pretty fun topic. I’m not sure how many of you remember Phoenix, but he’s one of my favorite characters to write (and he’s a lot like me!) so it’s only natural that we’re both locked in a dungeon.

I sat on the cold, stony floor of the dungeon. Phoenix sat beside me messing with his leather jacket’s zipper.

“So … Do you have an idea on how to get out of here?” I asked.

“You’re the author, don’t you have one? Don’t you control the story?” Phoenix tetorted.

I sighed. “Not this one.”

We were both silent fro a moment.

“Any idea yet?: I asked a gain.

“No.”

“I guess we need to… I guess we need to work together,” I said though it pained me. I wasn’t one for workig together, even if it was with one fo my favorite charactes.

“I work alone.”

I smiled at Phoenix. I made this character to stubborn and like me.

“As do I. Normall. But I want to getout of here.”

We were both silen t for antoher long moment.

“Any ideas yet?”

“Ugh! No. You come up with one,” Phoenix siad, clearly annoyed.

I thought for a moment before answering. “I’m dry.”

I turned to Phoenix. I was surprised to see a smile on his dark face.

“What?”

He reachd a hand into his jacket pocket and pulled out a dark blue ball, small enough to be a fake eye.

“What’s that?” I asked, though I already knew since I creatd it.

“It’s our way out of here.”

Phoenix stood up. I quickl scrambled up as well. I only went to his shoulder. He reached into his pocket again and gave me another blue ball.

“On the count of there,” he said. “One … Two … Three.”

On there both of us threw the ball and a burst of light came.

I looked around, expecting to be on a grassy hill or somewhere other then the castle dungewon, but was surprised to see I was in the exact same place.

“What happened?” I asked.

“You should know.”

I rolled my eyes.

The ball had reached it’s ‘experation date’. There went our time traveling.

My word count was 339 in ten minutes. I though I would’ve done better. But in all fairness, my mom and two of my siblings kept trying to talk to me.

Oh, and don’t ask about the fake eye thing, it was what I could come up with from the top of my head. 😀

I ‘nominate’

Simi

C.B.

Writefury

Reading Anyone

That’s all I can think of, but you can consider this an open tag as well.

Your topic is: Your favorite and least favorite characters (from different books, and as many characters as you would like) have to have a meal together, what happens? (to make it fun, do try to involve poison or the sort!)

