Hey everyone! Sorry you had to wait so long for the next part! But here it is, and I hope you guys enjoy it ’cause I enjoyed writing it!

*note You can find the first part here and the next part (VII) here.


 

I awoke on a bed other then my own. Looking around, I saw that I was in a hospital bed with Carmen, Johnny, and Alice sitting on either side of me, all with concerned faces. The next thing I noticed, was that I felt absolutely no pain, probably due to all the medication that was probably being pumped into my veins.

I steeled myself to look down at my arm. The cuts were now gone, but now both arms had scars everywhere, and my arms were tinted a greenish color.

“What happened? Have I been in a coma or something?” I asked, confused.

“No, you actually just woke up from the medication the doctors gave you yesterday,” Carmen explained. “They were going to give you stitches. But they were startled when the cuts traveled over your chest to your other arm, and up your neck to your face.”

Instinctively I reached a hand for my face. There were uneven spots all over, clearly where the scars were.

I felt a tear began to trickle down my cheek, but I nodded for Carmen to continue.

“Well,” Carmen continued uncertainly, “when they were beginning to prep for giving you stitches, all your wounds closed up. But You still have glass pieces beneath your skin, causing lots of worry.”

“So right now, there’s pieces of glass about to poke through my skin?” I asked, sickened at the thought.

Carmen nodded, tears welling in her eyes.

Then an unexpected thought came to mind, what happened to Clara? Was she going through the same things I was? Was this what she was scared of?

“Your mom’s coming soon,” Alice added, her voice slightly breaking.

“You guys don’t need to cry; it’s now like I’m going to die,” I said. But taking another quick glance at my arm, I wasn’t so sure.

Alice nodded, then excused herself and left the room.

A few moments later, Mom walked in. She looked as if she had just walked through a tornado. Her hair was a wreck, her clothes didn’t match, and there were dark lines under her eyes.

“Sawyer,” she said, rushing towards me. She was about to wrap her arms around me, then she remembered that I was still injured. “What happened?”

I shrugged. I didn’t want to tell them about the mirror or Clara, because they would probably put me in an insane asylum. “I’m not sure. Everything’s still a blur.”

Mom nodded, tears coming to her eyes as well.

“What’s with all this crying?” I smiled, though some tears of my own trickled down my face to drip off my chin.

“Does it hurt?” Mom asked, concerned.

I shook my head.

“After the doctors finish their tests and see what they can do about the glass, they’re going to give us an estimate of when he can go home,” Carmen explained.

“That’s great. That’s really great,” Mom said. She tried to hold back tears, but failed, as she took hold of my hand gingerly.

That evening, after vising hours everyone had left. I was alone. I was happy to get some time to myself and ponder the mysterious happenings, but I didn’t want to be left in a hospital with no one I knew within fifteen minutes.

After pacing the room a few times, I laid down on the bed, thinking. I couldn’t wrap my mind around Clara. The little girl had plenty of wisdom for her young age. But what was she doing in Grandma’s mirror? And why were there people after her? Nothing made sense. And what on earth was in the vial? And was it even of earth?

I just wanted answers, and I wasn’t getting any by just laying around a hospital. I decided that once I got home, I would find the answers I wanted, no matter what the price.

As I lay there, I heard a noise. It sounded like crying, but nobody else was anywhere in sight.

Sitting up again, I listened to try to pin point where the sound was coming from. It was crying… but it sounded like it was coming from underneath me.

I got out of bed, careful to keep all the tubes attached to me from tangling. I lowered myself to my knees and hesitantly looked under the hospital bed.


WHAT’S GONNA HAPPEN NEXT?!?! Tell me in the comments below!! XD

 

 

