Hey everyone, I’m back (and no, I didn’t die 🙂 )! So, sorry that I haven’t posted for so long, but life’s been pretty hectic. Anyways, I have for your the next part of Mirrors.

Also, soon I’ll be posting the first part of Mirrors in the third-person POV. But more on that later.

Anyways, onto the story! And sorry, but it isn’t the most interesting part, but the pace’ll pick up soon. 🙂

*note You can find the first part here and the next part (VIII) here.


A small figure was curled up into a ball crying.

“Hello?” I whispered quietly.

“Yes?” a child’s voice called.

“Come out here.”

The kid crawled out to reveal a small girl.

“Sawyer!” she cried.

I squinted, trying to recall the familiar face in the dark. “Clara.”

“You’re okay!” Clara tried to throw her arms around me, but when she was just an inch away, a shock rippled through me. And by her face, I could tell one went through her as well.

“What was that?” I got up and walked to the lamp beside the bed.

“Don’t turn on the light!” Clara said, panic in her voice.

“Why?” I asked.

“I don’t want you to see me like this,” Clara said quietly.

“It’s fine. You can’t look any worse then me.” I flipped the switch. I blinked a few times to adjust to the light, then looked at Clara.

Her small face was pocked with scars, as mine was, but her’s weren’t entirely scars yet. An ugly, purple bruise was on her left cheek. Her hair was pressed to her face by her abundance of tears.

“How did you get here?” I asked gently. I sat down beside her, but when I did, I felt a tingle, so I moved over a bit until the sensation stopped.

She shrugged. “So I take it, you found out about jhac?”

“What, or who, is jhac?”

Clara smiled at my ignorance. “It’s what was in the vial.”

“Oh. Well I don’t like it very much.”

“I don’t either, but it needed to be done.” Clara turned her big eyes to me. “You’ll forgive me, won’t you? I was suppose to do it. He told me to.”

“Who is he?” I ignored her request for forgiveness.

Clara shrugged her slender shoulders again.

“You don’t know? Or you won’t tell me?” I questioned.

Clara shrugged once again, throwing me an ornery look. Then a shadow came over her face. “I can’t stay any longer.”

“Why? Don’t go back. Stay! I can protect you!” Even as I said it, I knew I could do nothing to protect this small child.

Clara threw her arms around me. This time it didn’t shock. I closed my eyes and rubbed the girls back.

When I opened my eyes, I realized that Clara was no longer in my arms. I also noticed that I was sitting on the hospital bed, a shaft of light was shining on me from the window.

“It must’ve been a dream,” I mumbled.

Someone opened my room door. “What was?” Alice asked.

I shook my head. “Nothing.”

“I’m sure it was something.” Alice closed the door and sat beside me on the bed.

“I said it was nothing, so it was nothing.”

Alice just smiled and rolled her eyes. “So, how’d last night go?”

I thought about the apparent dream that I had about Clara. “Okay. I didn’t get the best sleep, but you get what you get.”

“Yeah. Are you excited to go home?”

I sighed. “I guess.” I hung my head, embarrassed. “I don’t like being in the hospital room alone.”

“I understand.” Alice tried to hide her smile from me, but she failed. “Anyways, Mom’ll come get you after lunch.”

“Why aren’t you in school?”

“My Mom called in saying neither of us would be in school today.” She smiled. “Jack, Johnny, and the twins still had to go.”

I let a smile breakthrough. Leave it to Alice to brighten my day.


What do you think is going to happen? Why do you think about Clara? Who is she? Tell me what you think in the comments! I’d love to hear what you think!! 😀

