Hey everyone! This book link-up has been going around, and I really wanted to do it! So, I haven’t done the first one, but eh!!

I’m doing this on Mirrors, my current NaNo project, and what I’ve been posting as a serial on my blog (duh!), and you can find part one here and the most recent part here.

Oh, and as some of you know, I started Mirrors in July at Camp NaNo, so I’m finishing Mirrors in a different word document (so I still technically write 50k). And for this link-up I’ll be doing answers from this NaNo.

Anywho, onto the answers!!


I: Is the book turning out how you thought it would be, or is it defying your expectations?

Well, the beginning went along quite as planned, after that, well… Nada. Though I’m loving it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

II: Whatโ€™s your first sentence (or paragraph)?

Psh! That’s boring! Here’s from something that I newly wrote. (P.S. MAJOR SPOILERS!! XD )

Paige brushed back a strand of her blonde hair that fell from the ponytail, then a smug grin crossed her face.

โ€œWhat?โ€ Once again, that question failed me.

She turned her face upwards and her grin turned into a full-fledged smile. The lights began to flicker, and then went out. Leaving me in the dark with five superpowerd teenagers. Not a fun scenario considering most of them could kill me in seconds.

Then I saw a light, like when you rub two blankets together in the dark. What was it called? Static. It grew until it was the size of a basketball and illuminated Paige’s face, eyes closed and smile gone in concentration.

III: Are you a plotter or a pantser?ย Have you ever tried both methods and how did it turn out?

Pantser at heart! It KILLS me when I have to do it for school. KILLS!! So I just go with the first thing that comes to mind, and it has never failed me! (that’s right,ย I don’t get writer’s block!!ย ๐Ÿ˜›ย )

IV: What do you reward yourself with after meeting a goal?

Well, I give myself a jellybean after every page (I love jelly beans! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ). But I’m very competitive, so when I saw that my NaNo friends had a higher word count, I just naturally had to beat them.

VI: What do you look for in a name? Do you have themes and where do you find your names?

Actually, when I’m bored I search for names to add to my every growing to-use name list (I seriously have a really long one. each name is in a different font and stuff), so I’m never out of names! And I usually use Name Berry, the Bible (when I read it, I always have pen and paper ๐Ÿ˜‰ ), and when I mistype a word and it looks cool, I write it down and use it for a name.

VI: What is your favourite to write: beginning, middle, or end โ€” and why?

Ooh! Tough one! I really like the beginning because of the excitement of having a blank document (in my case), and letting your imagination go rabid (yeah, I said rabid ๐Ÿ™‚ )! The middle ’cause that’s where all the good stuff happens. And the end because of the satisfaction of finishing a project.

And yeah, I know I said all three. ๐Ÿ˜‰

VII: Whoโ€™s your current favourite character in your novel?

Hands down Clara and Paige. โค

VII: What kind of things have you researched for this project, and how do you go about researching?ย (Whatโ€™s the weirdest thing youโ€™ve researched?!)

I don’t usually research stuff, but fromย those occasions, I made a list on Goodreads. ๐Ÿ˜€

-superpowers
-electromagnetic wavelengths
-the difference between woods and forests
-mechanical birds
-microwaves
and the such.

IX: Do you write better alone or with others? Do you share your work or prefer to keep it to yourself?

ALONE!! But with siblings YOU ARE NEVER ALONE!! So I just put on my headphones and crank up the volume pretty loud.

Actually, I don’t let my family read my stuff. *hides from disapproving glares* But on one manuscript, I’m reading it aloud to a friend and my sister. But I like to share my stuff with you all!! ๐Ÿ™‚

X: What are your writing habits? Is there a specific snack you eat? Do you listen to music? What time of day do you write best?

Hmm. I sit. And I type. ๐Ÿ˜›

Uh, anything dry (cereal, spelt pretzels, etc) or apple slices.

Yep! I listen to music (what else can I turn the volume on ultra loud with??). Each of my stories has a different band/song. Mirrors is Empire by Of Monsters and Men, and The Piano Guys.

And finally, I write best in the morning (before 7:30 and when I’m not reading). But I write THE BEST at night, when it’s all dark outside and most of my younger siblings are in bed.


That’s it guys! What’d you think? If you want you can answer these in the comments, or leave me a link to your post on this! ๐Ÿ˜€

