Hey guys!

Well, when you can’t think of a post, do a review! Haha, yeah. That works.

And I’m a little late for the Olympics, but here’s a review for Greater Than Gold: David Boudia!


27840646One of America’s most heralded young divers, David Boudia twice went for Olympic gold, training obsessively and whole-heartedly for success. In his first Olympics, he failed miserably, not winning a single medal. Four years later saw a different story: he mounted the podium twice, winning both gold and bronze. The difference? In the intervening years, he’d changed the focus of his quest from seeking glory for himself to giving glory to God. In Greater Than Gold, Boudia provides a behind-the-scenes access to the rarefied world of world-class athletics while also showing readers that when they place their hope in God, they receive what they’ve been seeking all along.


The Good:

This book is by twice Olympian, David Boudia. I thought that I’d try a book that’s a little different than what I’ve recently been reading. And this was as good as any.

For what I’ve got from this book, David was a very self-centered, competitive child (so imagine sending him to the Olympics…).

Really, this was a good book! You get to see some behind-the-scenes of the Olympics, and an awesome journey of redemption through David’s eyes!

And after I read this, I now feel very confident and informed about diving terms because, obviously.

Also, you finally solve the mystery of those … swimsuit things divers wear.

Randomly, he and his wife (and daughter) are soooo cute!

Overall, I really liked this! 🙂

The Bad:

In the middle of the book, it was very preachy. Like, that’s the kind of book that it is. But still.

For me, sitting (or laying … in the nighttime reading case) through this was a little long for me.

And it was kinda annoying how it’d start explaining something, than say that he’d finish later.

Anyways, I really enjoyed this and recommend this book to teens who’d like to read an autobiography of an Olympian.

Three and a Half Stars ∗∗∗


Thank you, BookLook Bloggers for the book!!! Every view and word and awesomeness is my own … blah, blah, blah, etc.


Hey guys! What post would you like to see next? And sorry that I was a little late for the Olympics! Oops. And now for the BIG QUESTION: If you were an amazing athlete, what would you like to compete in in the Olympics? I’d definitely be archery! 🙂

