Hey peoples!! Guess what???? I’ve posted three times this week! That’s my goal! Yay me!

So today we have another Friday of Broken Reflections, this time bringing Sawyer and Clara’s previous conversation to a close. (It’s a little bit longer of a part … but that just means more pictures from my Pinterest board!)

Don’t know what I’m talking about? Look at the previous parts that I’ve helpfully compiled! Do it.

Part onepart twopart threepart fourpart fivepart sixpart sevenpart eightpart f6f0b46b38e5f7421244a18f3aa1d0fbnine, part ten, part eleven, part twelvepart thirteenpart fourteenpart fifteen, and part
sixteen
.


Of course I agreed with Clara. Eugene had kidnapped me, so I was surprised by the words that came out of my mouth. “No, I won’t leave. Dr. Eugene has taken me in and he is a good man.”

Shock took over Clara’s facial features, then worry. “He’s already starting it,” Clara whispered to herself.

He’s started what? Why did I say what I just did?” I put my head in my hands. “I feel as if my thoughts and action aren’t even my own.”

Clara sighed, a sad sigh, not one of annoyance. “They’re not. He’s controlling your mind.”

But I thought you had to use a pocket watch or something. I’m pretty sure he hasn’t done that to me.”

Was I certain? If it truly was mind control he could’ve told me to forget that he even did anything to me.

cbce4db6895ad4e9a532726caaf79a73Clara shook her head hard, making her lose hair fly. “No.” She paused, as if thinking of the right word. “You know those books you have? Where people have powers?” I nodded, though I was still confused, and she continued. “He has powers. Mind control.”

So why does Dr. Eugene take in these kids?”

Because they have abilities one way or another.”

I let that sink in. Why hadn’t I seen it? I was a superhero nerd. What was happening around me was basically the X-Men, but evil.

So your saying that Dr. Eugene is an evil supervillain training others with superpowers to defeat superheroes?” I asked, trying to process everything.

Clara shook her head again. “No. Not superheroes and supervillains and superpowers; those aren’t real. They have abilities,” Clara explained, exasperated.

But aren’t they the same thing?”

Aren’t…” Clara paused again. “Aren’t crocodiles and alligators the same? “

She had a point.

They’re very similar, but different. I don’t want to go into it all,” Clara explained.

I stared at her. “How are you so smart?”

She looked down. “That doesn’t matter.”

We were both silent, then a thought struck me.f09348228e81f2a5bf47faebcdf1f224

Clara,” I asked cautiously.

Yeah?”

She looked up with tears in her eyes, which made me feel even worse about what I was going to ask.

Are you on the good side, or the bad side?”

Clara looked startled. The good, of course!” she cried indigently. “At least, I think… It all depends on perspective.”

So your saying that you’re on the good side and that Dr. Eugene is on the bad side?”

Clara nodded.

How do I know that you’re not the bad guy, and that Dr. Eugene is good? Huh? Answer me that.”

Zeus said this would happen,” Clara muttered.

What? Who’s is this Zeus guy? Tell me, Clara. I really do want to believe you.”

I-I can’t.” Clara looked away.

Why not? What’s the big secret?”
“Sawyer, I told you that I can’t,” Clara said quietly. For a moment the scared little girl that I had met what felt like ages ago was back.

I got out of bed and knelt beside Clara. “Is Zeus hurting you?”

Clara hesitated before shaking her head.

I nodded and stood up. “Well, Clara, I don’t want you to come back. Ever. All you’ve done is cause trouble for me. So go.” My throat tightened as I finished, but it had to be done.

Sawyer, I tried to tell you earlier, but I don’t keep coming. You bring me here in a way. And-”

No. I said go, so just go. I wish you the best of luck. I really do.”

I looked at the little girl just long enough to see tears begin to course down her cheeks.

But Sawyer, I need help. Badly.”

I nearly crumbled right there, but instead I just shook my head. Clara nodded, then walked out of the room.

I plopped down on the mattress. I felt really, really bad about doing that to Clara. I really did. But I couldn’t trust her, and we’d both be safer apart.

Sawyer, we need to leave now,” Andy’s annoyed voice called.

I groaned, but left my room and walked to the small living room. The door was left open, and I could see that Andy had already left and was nearly halfway to the main house already.

I reluctantly left, closing the door behind me as I did.

The walk took little over five minutes, but of course I was the last to arrive; including Eugene.

c5ae791bf120a8d8ecfc79ea8f443186When I walked in, everybody stared blankly at me, with the exception of Eugene but including Andy, as if they had forgotten that I had come the day before. Their staring made me self-conscious of my skin that was pocked with scars. But after a moment, everyone finally seemed to recognize me, and they all looked down at their laps.

I was expecting to be late, but was surprised when Eugene said nothing on the subject.

You may take a seat,” Eugene told me.

I looked at the table. All the seats were taken. Then I remembered that the previous night, before Colleen Ada had been sent to bed, she had brought in a folding chair. I glanced to my right, and saw the white chair.

I hastily picked it up and set it up in the nearest open spot – between Paige and Alla. When I sat down, Paige shifted as far from me as possible.

Now that we’re all here” – Eugene gave me a pointed look – “we can begin.”

Paige gave a small nod, then shoved her chair back. I followed suit, though without the nod.

Paige and I walked into the kitchen. On the counter was a stack of plates with forks and knives atop of them, and seven glasses. Paige picked up the plates and utensils and left the room. I picked up the glasses, though to be honest, I’m not exactly sure how I carried them all at once. I took them to the dining room and placed one at each place, then went back to the kitchen behind Paige.

On a different counter I saw something I hadn’t seen before; a huge plate stacked with at least twenty pancakes, and two huge pitcher of orange juice. Paige got the juice, leaving me with the pancakes.

I picked up the plate, and I nearly dropped it. The plate weighed a ton. But I manged to get it to the table without dropping one pancake, thank you very much.

As soon as I sat down, everyone dug in.


Not a super interesting part … but eh. You have those sometimes. Does anyone have any speculations on Clara or Zeus? What do you think is going on with them? And what do you think about the not-really superheroes/villains?? I’d LOVE to see your comments below! XD

