Hey peeps!

Today I’m doing a double BR post, since I missed last Friday (sorry!), so this might be a kind of long post…

2c2e4f8483918b3ec9131d30a7017ea9Anyways, let’s get started!


New? Or do you just want to catch up? Maybe reminisce on previous parts? You’ve come to the right paragraph place!

Part onepart twopart threepart fourpart fivepart sixpart sevenpart eightpart nine, part ten, part eleven, part twelvepart thirteenpart fourteenpart fifteen, and part sixteen.


Of course I agreed with Clara. Eugene had kidnapped me, so I was surprised by the words that came out of my mouth. “No, I won’t leave. Dr. Eugene has taken me in and he is a good man.”

Shock took over Clara’s facial features, then worry. “He’s already starting it,” Clara whispered to herself.

He’s started what? Why did I say what I just did?” I put my head in my hands. “I feel as if my thoughts and action aren’t even my own.”

Clara sighed, a sad sigh, not of annoyance. “They’re not. He’s controlling your mind.”

But I thought you had to use a pocket watch or something. I’m pretty sure he hasn’t done that to me.”

Was I certain? If it truly was mind control he could’ve told me to forget that he even did anything to me.

Clara shook her head hard, making her lose hair fly. “No.” She paused, as if thinking of the right word. “You know those books you have? Where people have powers?” I nodded, though I was still confused, and she continued. “He has powers. Mind control.”

So why does Dr. Eugene take in these kids?”

Because they have abilities one way or another.”

I let that sink in. Why hadn’t I seen it? I was a superhero nerd. What was happening around me was basically the X-Men, but evil.

So your saying that Dr. Eugene is an evil supervillain training others with superpowers to defeat superheroes?” I asked, trying to process everything.

Clara shook her head again. “No. Not superheroes and supervillains and superpowers, those aren’t real. They have abilities,” Clara said, exasperated.

But aren’t they the same thing?”

Aren’t…” Clara paused again. “Aren’t crocodiles and alligators the same?”80deef0e356014b9444fa81faaaac860

She had a point.

They’re very similar, but different. I don’t want to go into it all.”

I stared at her. “How are you so smart?”

She looked down. “That doesn’t matter.”

We were both silent, then a thought struck me.

Clara,” I asked cautiously.

Yeah?”

She looked up with tears in her eyes, which made me feel even worse about what I was going to ask.

Are you on the good side, or the bad side?”

Clara looked startled.

The good, of course!” Clara cried indigently. “At least, I think… It all depends on perspective.”

So your saying that your on the good side and that Dr. Eugene is on the bad side?”

Clara nodded.

How do I know that you’re not the bad guy, and that Dr. Eugene is good? Huh? Answer me that.”

Zeus said this would happen,” Clara muttered.

What? Who’s is this Zeus guy, anyways? Tell me Clara. I really do want to believe you.”

I-I can’t.” Clara looked away.

Why not? What’s the big secret?”
“Sawyer, I told you that I can’t,” Clara said quietly. For a moment the scared little girl that I had met what felt like ages ago was back.

I got out of bed and knelt beside Clara. “Is Zeus hurting you?”

Clara hesitated before shaking her head.

I nodded and stood up. “Well Clara, I don’t want you to come back. Ever. All you’ve done is cause trouble for me. So go.” My throat tightened as I finished, but it had to be done.

Sawyer, I tried to tell you earlier, but I don’t keep coming. You bring me here in a way. And-”

No. I said go, so just go. I wish you the best of luck. I really do.”

I looked at the little girl just long enough to see tears begin to course down her cheeks.

But Sawyer, I need help. Badly. Please, I beg of you!”

I nearly crumbled right there, but instead I just shook my head and closed my eyes. Clara nodded, then walked out of the room.

6bfc8fa37e8c307d47a19177a1f4eda2I plopped down on the mattress. I felt really, really bad about doing that to Clara. I really did. But I couldn’t trust her, and we’d both be safer apart. I rubbed my forehead. Looking up, I saw that Clara was gone. That kid was something else.

From another room, Andy’s annoyed voice called, “Sawyer, we need to leave now.”

I groaned, but left my room and walked to the small living room. The door was left open, and I could see that Andy had already left and was halfway to the main house.

I reluctantly left, closing the door behind me as I did.

The walk took little over five minutes, but of course I was the last to arrive; including Eugene.

When I walked in, everybody stared blankly at me, with the exception of Eugene but including Andy, as if they had forgotten that I had come the day before. Their staring made me self-conscious of my skin that was pocked with scars. But after a moment, everyone finally seemed to recognize me, and they all looked down at their laps.

I was expecting to be late, but was surprised when Eugene said nothing on the subject.

You may take a seat,” Eugene told me.

I looked at the table. All the seats were taken. Then I remembered that the previous night, before Colleen Ada had been sent to bed, she had brought in a folding chair. I glanced to my right and saw the white chair.

I hastily picked it up and set it up in the nearest open spot; between Paige and Alla. When I sat down, Paige shifted as far from me as possible, not bothering the courtesy that Alla did by moving her chair over a smidge.

Now that we’re all here” – Eugene gave me a pointed look – “we can begin.”

Confused, I noted that there was no food or much of anything, really, on the table.

“Sawyer, please go help Paige get breakfast for us.”

I ducked my head slightly and followed Paige’s lead as she stood up and left the room.

Once in the kitchen, I saw that on the counter was a stack of plates with forks and knives atop of them, and seven glasses. Paige picked up the plates and utensils and left the room. I picked up the glasses, though to be honest, I’m not exactly sure how I carried them all at once. I took them to the dining room and placed one at each place, then went back to the kitchen behind Paige.

On a different counter I saw something I hadn’t seen before – a huge plate stacked with at least twenty pancakes, and two huge pitchers of orange juice. Paige got the juice, leaving me with the pancakes.

I picked up the plate, and I nearly dropped it. The plate weighed a ton. But I manged to get it to the table without dropping one pancake, thank you very much.

As soon as I sat down, everyone dug in.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love pancakes and these were delicious, but there wasn’t any syrup or butter or anything, and pancakes weren’t made to be eaten plain.

I ate a few bites, staring hard at my plate. I was startled by a laugh.e25539672d19c0e9a217ebbfc2c04dce

I jerked my head up and saw Eugene laughing. A lot. Apparently Colleen Ada had just told him something funny, because both were cracking up. An odd mixture of laughter; a still young girl and a middle aged man. But it was oddly … comforting.

What?” James asked. “What’s so funny?”

It-it was an i-in the moment thing,” Colleen Ada said between laughter.

Well you can still tell us,” James complained. But Colleen Ada just shook her head.

I was surprised when I was smiled. Despite Eugene’s strict rules, they were all like a family.

James turned to me and grasped my arm. “What? Did you hear it?”

No.” I shook my head, but my smile stayed.

Ugh! You people are impossible!”

My smile widened. They were a family.

So, Sawyer,” Alla began. I turned to her. “What is your … ability?”

Ability?” My smile faded as I recalled my conversation with Clara from that morning. It all made sense that since Eugene had taken me, I’d have abilities as well.

Alla,” Eugene warned. “I have yet to talk about that.”

Alla nodded and looked down, obviously chastised.

Her question had silenced the brief bit of laughter, but soon Eugene was laughing along with Alla, James, and Colleen Ada.

I didn’t listen to a lot of what everyone was being said, but I enjoyed the sound of their cheerful tones.

After breakfast, Eugene said that we had free time, so I started to follow the other kids outside the main house, when Eugene grabbed my forearm.

Can I talk to you?” Eugene said. It wasn’t a request.

My cheeks began to burn. Had I done something wrong?

Yeah, sure. Whatever.” My attempt at nonchalance ended pretty badly.

Still holding onto my arm, he led me to the two rockers by the fireplace. We sat down, and Eugene turned his chair to face mine.

So… what did you want to talk to me about?” I asked, trying to calm my nerves.

I was planing to wait awhile before telling you this, but after Alla let it slip…”

About the abilities?” I asked, trying to keep the edge out of my voice.

Yes.” Eugene nodded. “So you know already?”

I was about to say yes, but I didn’t want to put Clara in danger, even if she was on the wrong side. “No. But I heard Clara say it.”

Clara?” Eugene asked. There was something in his voice that I didn’t like. “Who’s Clara?” He leaned forwards and gripped my arm tightly.

Clara? Oh, I meant to say Alla,” I responded nervously. How could I be so stupid. “Clara was a girl from my class. I don’t know why I said that.”

7cd29cd7f6fcdc3254afcd6d787aad7aEugene nodded, but I don’t think that he believed me. After a moment, he finally let go of my arm, and I was sure that if I looked, there’d be red marks from where he’d grasped my arms. “Oh.”

Yeah.” I rubbed my sore forearm.

Anyways,” Eugene said, and I could tell that he was still thinking about the name Clara. “I was going to talk to you about abilities.”

I nodded, trying to swallow the lump in my throat. I was finally going to find out about my ‘abilities’ and why I was here, at least I hoped so.

I’m not sure what you know, but certainly not much,” Eugene began. I nodded in agreement. “I’m not sure how or why you got your abilities, at least not yet. But think of it as a superpower; but don’t ever say that someone’s a superhero, supervillian, or have superpowers. It’s the equivalence of calling someone a very bad name.”

So … what do you call them?” Couldn’t he just get to the important stuff?
“Abilitized, of course.”

Of course.

But Sawyer, listen to me, this is not to be taken lightly. This is very serious stuff.”

I nodded, however minuscule the topic seemed.

So I assume I’m one of these ‘abilitized’ people?” I asked.

Yes. Though I’m not quite sure what your ability is yet, that comes from days of watching, all the way to months, even years.”

Years to find out my superpower?
“Then you have an ability?”

Indeed.”

And it is…?” I asked, gesturing with my hand for him to continue.

Eugene let a smile breakthrough, showing his slightly crooked teeth. “It will scare you too much at first. Let me first figure yours out.”

Really? But I nodded.

Can you tell me the others’ powers?”

Well, I’m afraid that’s a personal choice on their part, so you’d have to ask them yourself,” Eugene responded.

So I’m free to go?”

Yes, as soon as I give you some things.” Eugene stood up.

What kind of things?” I asked cautiously.

Would you like bedding and clothes or not?” Eugene asked, raising an eyebrow.

Oh, yes please!” I hastily got to my feet as well, making the rocking chair rock furiously.

Then wait here. I will go and get the things.” Eugene left the room by a door that I had yet to go through.

I sat down awkwardly. Though how one can be really awkward while no one is around, I don’t know.

After a few moments Eugene came back in, a navy blue gym bag over his shoulder.

Your things,” Eugene said, holding out the bag.

I stood up again, and took the bag, surprised at how light it felt.

And if you need anything, don’t come to me.”

I stood for a moment, trying to figure out his words, when a smile broke lose.

I’m kidding! Go on and get settle down.”

I nodded and hurried for the door.

When I opened the door, there was a big shuffling sound a large amount of whispering. I peered around the opened door and saw all the other five teenagers standing in a huddled mass.

I was about to say something, when all of them put their fingers to their lips. I nodded, then hurried out of the door, off the porch, and across the clearing – the others following me.

When we were out of earshot I asked, “What were you guys doing? Eavesdropping is ac62745a586ff66146d83f29a4eba3a3awful!”

Unless when I do it…

Well, we couldn’t hear it that much, so it’s not bad, not really,” James said quickly. “It’s not even eavesdropping if you can’t actually hear the conversation!”
“Well I happen to disagree. But, what were you doing, trying to eavesdrop?”

We’re always so far behind on information,” Alla complained, “we thought we might try to learn something.”

I thought I’d try to learn something too,” I mumbled.

What?” Andy demanded.

Nothing you need to know.”

Well I also happen to disagree,” Andy argued.

Disagree all you want, but it’s not going to change the fact that I’m not going to tell you.”

Out of the corner of my eye I saw Andy cross his arms and a frown come over his face.

I rolled my eyes.

So,” I said, turning to Colleen Ada. “What do you guys do during free time?”

Gesturing to my newly found gym bag, Colleen Ada said, “You’ll see after you fix up your room.”

With that, Colleen Ada, James, Paige, and Alla turned and walked in the directions of their small homes. Unfortunately, Andy and I were going in the same direction. Luckily neither of us talked.

When we reached the small home Andy went immediately to his room, so I went to mine. I opened the gym bag to find an array of clothes, a wad of sheets, and a phone.

I put the clothes into the drawer, and the sheets on the bed, then went out to the living room. Not long after, a knock sounded on the door, the door opened, and Colleen Ada stepped in.

Are you all settled?” she asked.

I nodded and Colleen Ada took my hand and jerked me outside.

Andy, if you’re coming we’re leaving right now,” Colleen Ada called in.

I heard Andy grumbling as he shuffled out. “You know I never go.”

Doesn’t hurt to ask!”

Colleen Ada, still holding my hand, pulled me to where I saw James and Ada waiting on the edge of the clearing.

What are we doing?” I asked.

We’re going exploring,” James responded, a mischievous gleam in his eyes.

What? But isn’t that against the rules?”

Alla shrugged. “That’s why Paige and Andy never come.”


Hey, peeps! Hopefully that wasn’t too long for y’all! 😉 How’re you liking everybody? What do you think about Dr. Eugene? What’s Clara talking about? Where are Colleen Ada, Alla, and James taking Sawyer? Let me know your speculations (and suggestions) in the comments below! Looking forwards to talking to you down there! 😀

