Aaaaaaaand we’re back with ANOTHER Broken Reflections (part 24)! Are you new? Check out all of the previous parts HERE.

And believe me, you’ll wanna read this part, because, you know, something cool might just be revealed. *wink* *wink* πŸ˜›

(Also, all pictures are taken from my Broken Reflections Pinterest board right HERE.)


Alla closed her eyes, and slowed her breathing. β€œSo I take it flight isn’t your ability?”

I shook my head, but I saw that her eyes were still closed. I gave a small, controlled chuckle. β€œNo, I guess not.”

Pain flared again, enveloping my whole body. I clenched my teeth even harder. This pain was the worst yet.

β€œJust relax,” Alla told me, gripping my hand a little tighter. Quietly she added, β€œI need to concentrate.”

I nodded and calmed slightly as some of the pain slightly eased. The next time the pain came, it was dulled, which I was very thankful for. I tried to stay as still as possible while Alla held my hand, which was a little awkward.

At least, for me it was.

Finally Alla released my hand and her eyes fluttered open.

β€œI think I actually know what it is,” Alla told Dr. Eugene as she jumped to her feet.

5421111f774539a6a5ecc02ae5ce1d8fI climbed to mine, though at a much slower rate. β€œWhat do you mean, ‘actually’?”

Alla turned back to me. β€œAbilities are very hard to control, and I’ve only been training for roughly four years.”

Four years? Just how long did it take to control abilities?

β€œAnd for me, sensing abilities is really, really hard. Like, really hard.”

She’d tried it before?

β€œBut yours was like a beacon, despite you not knowing, which makes it harder for me to sense. Which is why ,at first, I wasn’t sure if you were an abilitized or not.”

β€œNow, Alla. Don’t tell him everything,” Dr. Eugene chided.

Alla bowed her head. β€œOf course, Dr. Eugene.”

Dr. Eugene nodded in approval. β€œCome. We shall discuss this for the rest of Sawyer’s hour.”

As Dr. Eugene and Alla headed off to one of the doors, I stood there awkwardly.

When the two were at a door, Dr. Eugene turned to me and said, as if an afterthought, β€œYou may go.”

With that, Dr. Eugene opened the door, and held it open for Alla. With a final, sympathetic look at me, Alla went into the room – Dr. Eugene following.

Not sure what else to do, I walked to the stairs, my arm still in pain, but not near to the extent it had been earlier. I mounted the stairs, and pushed the doors with my good arm.

Not bothering to close the cellar doors, I collapsed next to Andy, where he still lay, eyes closed.

β€œYour done already?” Andy asked,not bothering to even crack his eyelids o

β€œSawyer! Your arm!” Colleen Ada cried.

As if I didn’t know.

β€œWhat happened?” James asked, crawling through the grass to my side.

I shrugged, but winced from the effort. β€œI think I broke it.”

Colleen Ada came next to me as well. β€œDoes it hurt?” A frown flicked across from her face, realizing how stupid the question sounded.

I looked down to my arm and saw that the color was no longer black, but was a light blue; and it was no longer twisted funny, but rather almost back to normal.

If I hadn’t been sitting, I would’ve jumped. β€œIt’s-it’s looking better!”

β€œIt doesn’t look good to me,” Colleen Ada said, her face showing concern.

Andy finally opened his eyes and crawled over. β€œYeah, it looks painful.”

β€œYeah, I didn’t notice.”

β€œYou’re in pretty good humor for just breaking an arm,” James commented.

β€œWell it doesn’t hurt so much now. Like, it hurt really badly, then, like, a needle prick. Then it’d go back and forth. Now it doesn’t hurt too much.”

β€œThat’s odd,” Colleen Ada said. She zoned, like she was deep in thought.819923fce49e8493f6273fc497f3c8e4

I nodded.

β€œWhere’s Alla?” James asked.

β€œShe was talking with Dr. Eugene for the rest of my hour. Dr. Eugene had Alla try to find out what my ability is,” I explained.

β€œOh, I see.”

The four of us sat there in silence. After a few moments, Colleen Ada let out a gasp.

β€œWhat?” I asked.

β€œYour arm!”

I glance down at it. My arm was completely normal, except for a greenish undertone. Long, skinny, and pale.

β€œWhat? How?” I asked, confused.

β€œThat must be your ability!” James exclaimed.

β€œWhat is?”

β€œHealing, duh!”

I gave that a moment to sink in. Healing. Not too bad for an ability, at least I didn’t get another pair of arms, or six more eyes, or something. Still, it wasn’t as cool as Paige’s, or Andy’s – or even Alla’s.

I admit, I felt disappointment. Jealousy.

β€œWhy didn’t it heal my arm last time it broke? I was in a cast for a month. Do I get abilities suddenly, or something?”

Colleen Ada appeared deep in thought. β€œNo, abilitized always have abilities. I don’t know. You’ll have to ask Dr. Eugene.”

β€œAsk him what?” Paige asked, walking to us.

Everyone’s mouths clammed shut. Except mine.

β€œWhere have you been?”

β€œBathroom. Now, tell Dr. Eugene what?”

β€œWe figured out my ability,” I explained. Part of me didn’t want to tell Paige about my gift of healing. Healing, though helpful, was such a lame ability.

β€œAnd what is it?” Paige asked, plopping to the ground in front of me in a somehow graceful manner.

β€œHealing,” I murmured, half hoping she couldn’t hear me.

Paige’s eyebrows arched up. β€œReally? That’s…”

β€œLame.”

β€œNo, cool. Just you wait until you get an injury, then you’ll be happy for your ability.”

β€œThe healing process didn’t make me happy. It was highly painful.”

Paige’s eyebrows rose even higher. β€œSo you’ve experienced your healing before?”

I nodded, then went on to tell Paige about my broken arm. Then Colleen Ada decided to speak and said about the oddity of my first broken arm not healing.

β€œThat’s … odd,” Paige said finally.

I nodded.

β€œHey,” Colleen Ada said softly, gently touching my still exposed arm. Calm swept over me, no doubt thanks to Colleen Ada’s ability. β€œIt’ll be fine. Healing is one of the most useful abilities there is.”

3d7598934181b0fac800f32a7bffa910β€œThanks,” I murmured. Colleen Ada must’ve picked up the fact that I was feeling discouraged.

β€œYou’ll be fine!” Colleen Ada assured, and I felt belonging rushing through me, though no amount could fix the amount of uselessness running through me.

β€œYeah, healing is pretty wimpy,” James said. β€œEverybody seems to have it. And look at them! They’re the ones who always end up bored and alone Β and watching And Griffith reruns.”

β€œJames!” Colleen Ada scolded, elbowing James in the ribs. Hard.


So there you go, guys. Are you happy that I finally revealed Sawyer’s ability (or did I …?)?? Please let me know in the comments down below!

