“I have one year to live.”
Harley looks at me, and I can’t interpret his look.

I just have to be honest, though. It is only our third month dating, but I feel like I owe him this, I just can’t drag him into something.

“Aubrey, what are you talking about?” His words are said with a slight chuckle.

I sigh, exasperated. “Harvey, I’m serious.”

There must be something in my eyes, because Harley sobers up.

“What – is it cancer or something? You can get treatment, right?” There is genuine concern in his eyes, which kind of touches me. “What did the doctors say?”

I think about my word choices for a second. When I finally do talk, my words are stilted. “I … doctor says … a year … um.”

Harvey must think that I am about to cry, because he reaches out and rubs my arm, his eyes sympathetic, even though he can’t understand me. The gesture is appreciated, though, as I am definitely more of an affectionate person than he is.

“I’m not … I’m not sick,” I say firmly.

He pauses his rubbing for a second, before he picks it back up again. “Okay, Aubrey. I believe you.”

My anger flares. I stand up, my fists clenched. “I’m not sick.” I raise a few stares from around the restaurant at that, so I slowly sit back down. I’m acting like a moody teenager; I need to chill down.

“I said I believe you.”

“But … you don’t … understand.”

I can hear banging from a side door. Of course they’d come the dramatic route. People are starting to notice.

“Harvey – I just … I’m sorry.”

Now, along with the sympathy, is confusion. It’s an odd mix on Harvey’s rounded features.

“Where is she?!”

I hunker down in my seat. Harvey, along with everyone else in the room, is looking around.

HeΒ walks in, all pin strips and greased hair and fat.

“Aubrey, darling.” His voice is much more calm now.

I bow my head. “Doctor,” I acknowledge.

Harvey’s eyes are wide, and I can’t bare to look at their dull green color – my favorite color.

Doctor leans in towards Harvey and whispers something into his ear. And I thought that Harvey’s eyes couldn’t get any bigger.

“Now, Aubrey. Walk with me, darling.”

rehost2f20162f92f132fc097841b-2c26-4641-894d-89304d1540db


I’ve been watching Gotham, so the mob has been on my mind. πŸ˜‰ So, how’d you like it?? Not my most exciting SS, but eh, I posted. Please comment! Bye!

