Hey everyone! So … I kinda freaked out last week ’cause I thought that I was suppose to post this review (’cause that’s what this post is) on my other blog on Tuesday, but I am still good! 🙂

Anyways, I got the AMAZING chance to beta this book (though I don’t think that I did much good…), and now I’m reviewing it for the log tour going on! Yay!

So.

The book is The Lady of the Vineyard by Kellyn Roth (her blog is here, and you can see some cool videos that she did!).

(Also, we’re on a “vacation” of sorts, and I didn’t bring my computer, so I stole my sister’s (who’s “n’s” ad “b’s” do’t work) and it’s 11 something here … so sorry if it’s a scattered review! 😉 )


the-lady-of-the-vineyard-1London, 1938

Judy has lived with her egocentric mother since her parents divorced when she was a baby. When her father, Troy Kee, shows up at her sixth birthday party and whisks her away to his vineyard in France, Judy is more than happy to go with him. But Adele, Judy’s mother, isn’t quite ready to give up her daughter. Can Judy forgive Adele? More importantly, can Troy?


The Good:

Over here I reviewed Kellyn’s other book (The Dressmaker’s Secret), and at the exact. same. time. I was beta-ing this book! So … I really got a taste of Kellyn’s writing style. 😉

Anyways. So as a decent helping of you know, I’m not usually one for historical or romance, and this book is both, but I really did enjoy this book!

But it is late, and I am tired, so we’re just gonna make this into a list!

  • Troy (the father) and Judy (the daughter) had such a cute relationship! Troy walked into Judy’s life, when she was six, for the first time, and it’s just sooo sweet seeing them interact! Kellyn did a really great job.
  • Adele was really connectable. Like, she’s sorta the “bad guy” in this book (though not really), but I feel that most of us can really relate to her: worrying firstly about ourselves.
  • Judy was just ADORABLE. Really. Kellyn did an awesome job with writing a character that young. 🙂
  • And overall, it was just a really sweet story.

The Bad:

More lists!!

  • Admittingly, it took me a bit to get use to Kellyn’s writing style. She’s has kinda an ominous POV, and it switches between a lot of people. But once I got use to it, I quite enjoyed it.
  • It took me a bit to like Troy. *hides* Like, he’s a really cool character, but, I do’t know… I think that I’m in the minority, though.
  • And, as with all historical romances (in my opinion), it had a quite convenient ending. Like, it was sweet and all, but still…

Anyways, this was a really good novella, and for all of you who like sweet Christian historical romances, this is definitely for you!

This is definitely a Christian book: prayers and Bible verses and the such.

Romance didn’t really go beyond maybe a kiss or hand holding? Honestly, I can’t remember. 😉

Three and a half stars ∗∗∗


 

author-photo

Kellyn Roth lives with her parents, two little brothers, incredibly needy cat, and faithful border collie Gidget on a ranch in the country. She’s a Christian, country girl, and professional skydiver (yes, we are playing two truths and a lie here). Ever since she could talk, she had a fascination with words, always making up songs and poems. Now a homeschooled highschooler, she spends her spare time (away from the real world) writing novels when she’s not procrastinating or blogging (which is just a higher form of procrastination) at kellynroth.wordpress.com.

 

Author blog:https://kellynroth.wordpress.com/

Book blog:https://reveriesreviews.wordpress.com/

Goodreads:https://www.goodreads.com/KellynRoth

Amazon:https://www.amazon.com/Kellyn-Roth/e/B01B0W0O7U?ref_=pe_1724030_132998060


So … how are you all doing? Talk to me below! What’s your favorite review of mine? Let me know down below! (And tell me an interesting fact about you! Though I think that I’ve done that before…)